Head table_narrow



We invite you to join Aspen Words, Colorado’s oldest literary center and a program of the Aspen Institute, and become a part of Aspen’s literary legacy. By making an annual tax-deductible donation, you will help us celebrate more than four decades of literary excellence for readers and writers of all ages. Click here for a list of current AW members.


Members of Aspen Words enjoy direct access to the brightest lights in the literary world. Your membership dues provide vital funds for our seven year-round programs that annually serve several thousand literary enthusiasts.



Contributor, up to $99

Benefits include:
10% discount on Winter Words and Summer Words book titles by purchasing books at Explore Booksellers in advance of the events
– Advance notice of public events and tickets on-sale dates
– Automatic entry to win AW special giveaways

Wordsmith, $100

Includes all benefits of the Contributor level, plus:
– Discounts on select AW events
– Recognition in select AW marketing materials

Scribe, $250

Includes all benefits of the Wordsmith level, plus:
– Invitation to member-only author receptions
– One ticket to one Winter Words event of your choice
– One ticket to one Summer Words event of your choice

Bard, $500

Includes all benefits of the Scribe level, plus:
– Two tickets to one Winter Words event of your choice
– Two tickets to one Summer Words event of your choice

Literati, $1,000

Includes all the benefits of the Bard level, plus:
– One complimentary season subscription to Winter Words OR two tickets to
three Winter Words events

Publisher, $2,500
Includes all benefits of the Literati level, plus:
– Membership in Aspen Words National Council
– Invitations to all National Council author events
– Invitation to one private dinner with a Winter Words author or Writer in Residence
– One complimentary pass to all Summer Words events
– Special reserved seating at all Summer Words, Winter words, and special events
– Invitations to select Aspen Institute Society of Fellows events

Laureate, $5,000
Includes all benefits of the Publisher level, plus:
– Two complimentary passes to all Winter Words events
– Invitations to two private dinners with a Winter Words author or Writer in Residence
– Discounts and early registration for Aspen Ideas Festival, Environment Forum, and Security Forum
– Invitation to Aspen Institute Holiday Party

Silver Quill, $10,000 
Includes all the benefits of the Laureate level, plus:
– Two complimentary passes to all Summer Words events
– Named reserved seating at all AW public events
– Invitations to three private dinners with Winter Words authors or Writers in Residence
– Advance copies of books from all Winter Words authors
– Gifts at this level and above can be specified

Gold Quill, $25,000
Includes all the benefits of the Silver Quill level, plus:
– Select signed copies of books from Summer Words authors
– Invitations to four private dinners with Winter Words authors or Writers in Residence

Platinum Quill, $50,000 and above
Includes all benefits of the Gold Quill level, plus:

Please contact Managing Director Jamie Kravitz, with any questions about sponsorship and underwriting opportunities, membership levels and benefits, and for information about: a gift of stock; a scholarship grant; planned giving.

Members may also choose to not receive benefits.



PLATINUM QUILL ($50,000 – $300,000)
Sallie and Tom Bernard
Jessica and John Fullerton
Isa Catto Shaw and Daniel Shaw

GOLDEN QUILL ($25,000+)
Suzanne Bober and Stephen Kahn
City of Aspen
Linda and Dennis Vaughn

SILVER QUILL ($10,000+)
Sandie and Archer Bishop – The Bishop Family Foundation
Joan Fabry and Michael Klein
Jill and Curtis Kaufman
Elizabeth and Josh Mondry
Helen and Wally Obermeyer
Anne and Arnold Porath
Barbara Reese
Mark Tompkins and Serena Koenig

LAUREATE ($5,000+)
Carol and Rob Auld
Kitty Boone
CFP Foundation
Les Dames d’Aspen
Barbara Fergus
The Eisner Foundation
Diane Goldberg and Bill Hunckler
Ellen and Bill Hunt
Marcella Larsen and Chip Chilson
Janet and Thomas McKinley – Western Colorado Community Foundation
Thrift Shop of Aspen

PUBLISHER ($2,500+)
Claudia + Richard Balderston
Cara and Robert Barnes – The Magnolia Foundation
Edie Barvin
Bruce Berger
Bessemer Trust – Bill, Sheila, and Phin Lambert
Kendall Cafritz
Tara Carson
Sue Edelstein and Bill Spence
Bruce Etkin
Jamie and Bush Helzberg
Geraldine Karetsky and Larry Naughton
Jane Jenkins
Stephanie and Michael Naidoff
Sue O’Bryan
Cathy O’Connell and Fred Venrick
Blanca and Cavanaugh O’Leary
Dipika Rai
Mary and Patrick Scanlan
Lisa See and Richard Kendall
Sarah Chase Shaw and Richard Shaw – BP Foundation
Michelle Smith

LITERATI ($1,000+)
Andrews Family Foundation – Karen and Harry Andrews
Judith Barnard and Michael Fain
Tom Barron
Lilly Bright
Andrea and Christopher Bryan
Ruth Carver
Julie Comins and Greg Pickrell
Jaimie and David Field
Stephanie Kallos
Karla Kuban
Penny Meepos
Jan and Kirk Williams

BARD ($500+)
Gina Berko
Kristen and Charles Bieler
Dennis Carruth
Bunni and Paul Copaken
Hannah Duncan
Barbara and Paul Freeman
Karen and Marc Friedberg
Eric Motley
Elizabeth Nix
Hensley and James Peterson
Zibby Schwartz

SCRIBE ($250+)
Kathleen Barger
Jan Blaich
Adrienne Brodeur and Tim Ryan
Cynthia Calvin and Mac McShane
Katie Devine
Nancy Dunlap
Susan and George Fesus
Wendy Hahn and Kent Whinnery
Maureen and Thomas Hirsch
Sue and Ron Hopkinson
Sis and Hasty Johnson
Richard and Catherine Kohnke
Barbara Carroll LaRose
Martha Luttrell
The Pierson Foundation – Anne and Austin Marquis
Barbara Reid and David Hyman
David & Jocelyn Stanton
W. Bryce Thompson Foundation
Townsend Walker

Sherry and Duane Abbott
Lynn Aliya
Steve Alldredge
Judith Bleiler
Liz and John Bokram
Dan Brabec
Deanna Brinkman
Marcia Butler
Nancy Jean and Richard Carrigan
Jennifer Catto
Caitlin Causey
Sandy Cheris
Maxine Christopher
Gretchen Cole
Susan Cottle
Alicia Creyts
Pam Cunningham
Marjorie DeLuca
Barbara Dills
Mary Dominick-Coomer and Sven Coomer
Marsha and David Dowler
Elyse Elliot
Gayle Embrey
Sylvia Falk
Carolyn Glah
Ethel Gofen
Julie Goldstein
Donna and Bernie Grauer
Michelle Greenfield
Molly Gregory
Susan Gross
Ivy Hansen
Gretchen Hinkamp
Deborah and Larry Hoffman
Candy and Ron Hochfield
Louise Hoversten
Luann Hull
Jackie Kasabach
Jamie and Jim Kravitz
Judy Kravitz
Amy Kwei
George Lilly
Jillian Livingston
Julia Marshall
Wendy Mitchell
Peg O’Brien
Marjorie Musgrave and Frank Peters
Lynda Palevsky
Fonda and Charles Paterson
Claudia Putnam
Mitzi Rapkin
Marilee Rippy
Tim Ritter
Lisanne Rogers
Robin Schiller
Helen Schulman and Bruce Handy
Sheri Scruby
Barbara Shaw
Eleanor Shelton
Lori Small
Nancy Smith
Lorraine Spector
Diane and Charles Spickert
Tanai Starrs
Francis Stuckens
Natalie Travers
Peter Waanders
Ruth Wade
Laura Werlin
Lara and Marc Whitley
Robert Woo
Corey Zurbach

Lissa Ballinger
Carol Batchelder
Christine Benedetti
Anne Blackwell
Sara Garton
Gail and Phil Holstein
Jackie Kasabach
Tricia Louthis
Ann Mass
Joanne Rubinoff
Kadian Townsend
R.T. Ward

Donations and pledges received as of February 1, 2017